“Mi Ultimo Adios”

My tito and I used to hang out in the Dagupan City Plaza every afternoon. I was four or five years old then.

I remembered it being quiet, peaceful and calming which is why I loved that place so much. I also adored the statue of Jose Rizal where underneath it was his last literary piece “Mi Ultimo Adios” in Spanish, English & Filipino.

Every time we would go there, I always read that piece even though the five-year-old me couldn’t comprehend it. I think that literary piece is what sparked me to love literature, even so appreciate local literature.

source: google images
Leave a Reply

